Anthoine on the podium of Jerez

Anthoine Hubert - Chammiponnat GP3 Series - 2017 - Monza

Anthoine completed the two Andalusian races of the GP3 Series Championship at the 5th and 3rd places. He scored big points at Jerez de la Frontera and is the most constant driver of the set. Anthoine is the 4th of the Championship. The final of the season will take place on 25 and 26 November in Abu Dhabi.

Free trials
Weather : Sunshine
Temperature : 27°C

1.  Russell1:30.214
2.  Aitken1:30.287
3.  A. Hubert1:30.399

Anthoine got a good start on the track of Jerez de la Frontera where he has always shown his best skills. He signed the 3rd best time of the session, very close to Jack Aitken and 2 tenths from Fukuzumi.

“I felt at ease since the beginning of the free trials. The team and I have done a good job and it was promising for the following of the weekend”.

Qualifying trials
Weather : Sunshine
Temperature : 30°C

1.  Fukuzumi1:30.678
2.  Aitken1:30.847
3.  Russell1:30.889
4.  Ticktum1:31.031
5.  A. Hubert1:31.140

Under the hot Andalusian sun, Anthoine made a good session start and signed the 3rd best chrono with his first set of tyres. But while some competitors progressed with their second sets of Pirelli tyres, Anthoine butted up against the traffic and ended the session at the 5th place.

“My first lap was good and the second was not amazing with an accumulation of little elements which caused issues. The traffic prevented me from pushing the tyres in temperature, I slightly blocked a wheel. Nothing definite, but the little details makes the difference”.

Long race
Weather : Sunshine
Temperature : 31°C

1.  Fukuzumi
2.  Russell+1.5
3.  Aitken+3.1
4.  Ticktum+5.4
5.  A. Hubert+8.1

Anthoine made a good start and reached the 5th position in Ticktum’s aspiration. However, the Englishman dearly defended his position and Anthoine’s attempts were not successful.

“Even with the DRS, it was very difficult to be able to overpass in Jerez, especially when the tyre degradation isn’t very clear. I made a good start, but the first turn came quickly and then the opportunities to overrun a competitor were very rare. It was quiet races, but I don’t see how I could have been better”..

Sprint race
Weather : Sunshine
Temperature : 20°C

1.  Lorandi
2.  Boccolacci+0.7
3.  A. Hubert+1.7

Fourth on the starting grid, Anthoine found back Ticktum on his road since the first meters of the race. But putting two wheels in the dirt, he saw the Englishman go past him. Anthoine came back to him in the 10th of the 17 laps of the race and, as he engaged a duel with Ticktum and Kari, he took the opportunity of a little skirmish between his two rivals which let Ticktum in the gravels to take the 4th place. The Finn has been downgraded at the end of the race, so Anthoine signed his fourth podium of the year.

“I took a good start and I resisted to Ticktum, but I made a little mistake putting two wheels in the gravels so he took the opportunity to overpass me. I came back to him and Kari, and they touched while we were all three in the battle. It was the opportunity I needed to win places so I took it. The global result of the weekend is not the one I hoped for, but I still have a chance to realise my goal of victory in Abu Dhabi. I will go without any complex and any restraint, with the determination to give everything to end the season on a high note”.

Championship

1.  Russell190
2.  Aitken140
3.  Fukuzumi134
4.  A. Hubert117

Ask for the programme

The GP3 Series is taking a break and will fight the final in the Formula 1 opening, on the track of Yas Marina in Abu Dhabi, on 25 and 26 November.

Anthoine sur le podium de Jerez

Anthoine Hubert - Chammiponnat GP3 Series - 2017 - Monza

Anthoine a bouclé les deux courses andalouses du championnat de GP3 Series aux 5ème et 3ème places. Il a marqué de gros points à Jerez de la Frontera et demeure le pilote le plus constant du plateau. Anthoine est 4ème au championnat. La finale de la saison se jouera les 25 et 26 novembre à Abu Dhabi.

Essais Libres
Météo : Soleil
Température : 27°C

1.  Russell1:30.214
2.  Aitken1:30.287
3.  A. Hubert1:30.399

Anthoine part du bon pied sur le circuit de Jerez de la Frontera où il s’est toujours mis en valeur par le passé. Il signe le 3ème meilleur temps de la séance, à un souffle de Jack Aitken et à deux dixièmes de Fukuzumi.

« Je me suis senti à l’aise dès le début des essais libres. L’équipe et moi avons fait du bon travail et c’était de bon augure pour la suite du week-end ».

Essais Qualificatifs
Météo : Soleil
Température : 30°C

1.  Fukuzumi1:30.678
2.  Aitken1:30.847
3.  Russell1:30.889
4.  Ticktum1:31.031
5.  A. Hubert1:31.140

Sous le chaud soleil andalou, Anthoine effectue un bon début de séance et signe le 3ème meilleur chrono avec son premier train de pneus. Mais alors que certains concurrents progressent avec leurs secondes montures de gommes Pirelli, Anthoine bute contre le trafic et termine la séance à la 5ème place.

« Mon premier tour était bon, le second pas fantastique avec une accumulation de petites choses qui coûtent cher. Le trafic m’a empêché de bien faire monter les pneus en température, j’ai bloqué légèrement une roue. Rien de très franc, mais ça chiffre vite et les petits détails font la différence ».

Course longue
Météo : Soleil
Température : 31°C

1.  Fukuzumi
2.  Russell+1.5
3.  Aitken+3.1
4.  Ticktum+5.4
5.  A. Hubert+8.1

Anthoine prend un départ propre et vire en 5ème position dans l’aspiration de Ticktum. Mais le Britannique défend chèrement sa place et les tentatives d’Anthoine ne sont pas couronnées de succès.

« Même avec le DRS, il est très difficile d’être en position de dépasser à Jerez. Surtout lorsque la dégradation des pneus n’est pas très marquée. J’ai pris un assez bon départ, mais le premier virage arrive vite et ensuite les opportunités d’attaquer un adversaire sont rares. On a assisté à des courses peu animées et je ne pense pas que j’aurais pu faire mieux à la régulière ».

Course sprint
Météo : Soleil
Température : 20°C

1.  Lorandi
2.  Boccolacci+0.7
3.  A. Hubert+1.7

Quatrième sur la grille de départ, Anthoine retrouve Ticktum sur sa route dès les premiers mètres de course. Mais en mettant deux roues dans la terre, il voit l’Anglais lui filer sous le nez. Anthoine revient sur lui dans le 10ème des 17 tours de course et, alors qu’il engage un duel à trois avec Ticktum et Kari, il profite d’un accrochage entre ses deux rivaux qui laisse Ticktum dans les graviers, pour prendre la 4ème place. Le Finlandais étant déclassé à l’issue de la course, Anthoine signe son quatrième podium de l’année.

« J’ai pris un départ correct et j’ai bien résisté à Ticktum, mais j’ai fait une petite erreur en mettant deux roues dans les graviers et il en a profité pour me passer sur l’élan. Je suis revenu sur lui et Kari et ils se sont touchés alors que nous étions tous les trois en bagarre. C’était l’opportunité qu’il fallait pour gagner des places et je l’ai saisie. Le résultat global de ce week-end n’est pas celui que j’espérais, mais il me reste une chance de réaliser mon objectif de victoire à Abu Dhabi. J’irai sans complexe et sans retenue, avec la détermination de tout donner pour finir la saison en beauté ».

Championnat

1.  Russell190
2.  Aitken140
3.  Fukuzumi134
4.  A. Hubert117

Demandez le programme

Les GP3 Series font relâche et disputeront leur finale en lever de rideau de la Formule 1, sur le circuit Yas Marina d’Abu Dhabi, les 25 et 26 novembre.